Sebastian Isaac Dowd

I was raised in Central Florida to be a good little Catholic girl, but found out I was really a nice Jewish young man fairly early in life. I came out as trans* in 2005, when I was 23 and living in Wichita. I am a writer and poet who dabbles in watercolor and oil painting, printmaking, and Native arts and crafts. I also play trumpet, piano, baritone, bassoon, french horn, and I sing…but do not practice as much as I should.

I deal with a lot of invisible chronic illnesses (type 1 diabetes, Hashimoto's thyroiditis, etc.) and pain from rheumatoid arthritis and fibromyalgia which requires me to use a cane and walker on most days.

I graduated from Newman University in 2011 with a B.S. in Elementary Education and minors in English and Art. I graduated from Wichita State with a Master's degree in Special Education and an emphasis in Gifted. I teach Gifted in a local school district.

I am a 36 year old, heteroflexible, demisexual, sapioromantic, qweird, Two-Spirit, ftM, and I use the pronouns he/him/his. I started testosterone in 2008 and had chest surgery in 2013. For the past 10 years, I have lived in Wichita with my adorkable ftM husbear (as of 2012), Elliot Holloway, along with our cats, Smokey Elvis and Princess Sadie, and dogs, Rufus Valentine and Raffi Cypher. We are also foster parents and we are both active members of the Wichita Two-Spirit Society and Congregation Emanu-El.

Presentation Overview:

Two-Spirit 101: LGBTIQQ Representation in Indigenous Communities

Learn more about the Two-Spirit identity and movement within indigenous communities of Turtle Island.

Conference Home Page * K-STEP Home Page * Register * Workshops Page * Presenters Page * Volunteer